Diet Trial and Errors – Part 3 Supplements

Supplements

After getting off the Carb Nite diet, I switched to counting calories since the general dieting had already helped to curb my appetite. However, I found myself being very grumpy when I’d find myself hungry barely an hour after eating a meal. I knew grumpiness would lead to weakness which would lead to caving in. I turned to various supplements to aid in my dieting.

NOW Glucomannan Fiber Konjac Root PillGlucomannan is a fiber supplement meant for curbing your appetite. While on Carb Nite, I had noticed that my “bowel movements” were a little off, so I wanted to up my fiber to get things back on track. Glucomannan is made from the konjac plant which is able to hold up to 200 times its weight in water, thus expanding in your stomach and making you feel satisfied sooner. It works best when taken with a full glass of water. It also helps to lower your LDL cholesterol levels. Now I know what you’re thinking, “You’re just starving yourself and making you think you don’t need to eat.” Not quite. It doesn’t make you so full that you completely supplement a meal. It just stops you from going for that second bowl of rice or that extra bread roll. It takes less to make you feel completely satisfied with a meal.

NOW Green Tea Extract PillsGreen Tea Extract has been shown to improve the rate of fat burning through increased thermogenesis. The active component in the extract is catechin, which acts as an antioxidant in the body and helps improve the immune and cardiovascular system. Studies have also shown that the main compounds in green tea extract might reduce the risk of cancer and type 1 diabetes as well as improve liver function. The hubs had previously used green tea extract with proven results, so I figured I’d give it a shot. Naturally, you can’t just take green tea and expect to lose weight, but it helps with burning just a bit more fat than you normally would with a good diet and exercise. I also found it was convenient for an extra caffeine boost. I don’t like to drink soda or coffee, but with the green tea extract pills, I find myself feeling nice and refreshed throughout the day without having to fill my body up with an excess of liquids.

H20 – With these supplements, they’re always taken with a full glass of water. Aside from just helping to swallow them, drinking water is an excellent appetite suppressant. People often mistake thirst for hunger, so when they get that gurgly feeling in their stomach, they turn to snacking when a glass of water might satisfy you just as well without taking in any calories. With these supplements, I’ve now gotten into the habit of drinking 10+ cups of water a day. Though I end up taking entirely too many trips to the restroom, I also feel “cleaner”. On the weekends if I happen to forget to drink as much water, I feel a noticeable difference.

Protein Shakes – Like with fiber, protein makes you feel fuller longer. I started drinking protein shakes for a nice low calorie quick meal. They’ve come in handy when I run out of sandwich meat, and need something simple and portable to bring to work. I usually pair it with an apple and some greek yogurt. Costco sells a protein shake by Premier Protein that has 30g of protein with only 160 calories and 2g of net carbs. This brand doesn’t taste too sweet, and doesn’t taste too grainy or powdery.

References

http://www.livestrong.com/glucomannan/

http://www.livestrong.com/green-tea-extract/

Diet Trial and Errors – Part 1 MyFitnessPal

Diet Trial and Errors – Part 2 The Carb Nite Solution

2 thoughts on “Diet Trial and Errors – Part 3 Supplements

  1. Pingback: Diet Trial and Errors – Part 2 The Carb Nite Solution | Wupps I'm Domesticated

  2. Pingback: Diet Trial and Errors – Part 1 MyFitnessPal | Wupps I'm Domesticated

Leave a Reply

